Dictation HELP!

Hi guys,

I am a bit perplexed of how exactly dictation works with FreePBX. I have it enabled and also enabled it in one of the newly SIP extensions created.

Here is the confusion.

1. What is the difference between *34 and *35 ?

*34 => You can only perform a dictation (record only) and save it under a filename.

*35 => You enter the filename for the dictation to be emailed.

Is there a way that both can be done in the same call ? With this I guess, I’ll have to record first and then dial *35 to have it emailed. I’d like to have this done in a single call.

I was thinking of copying the *35 context code right after *34 context code in the conf. However, since I am no expert, I might end up in trouble.

1. I’d like to have these dictations accessible online ?

How do I change the default location for their storage ? default is = /var/lib/asterisk/sounds/dictate/EXTEN

1. How do I limit the recording time? Lets say I want the recording time not to be over than 10 minutes for each dictation ? How can this restriction be imposed ? What file to edit ?

2. I’ve set the recording format to WAV. The files are stored as .raw ? Whats this ? Also, I see the size of my .raw files to be 0 bytes from webmin. Why is that so ?

3. I have voicemail to email working perfectly. Emails go out from my server and reach the destination email address in less than 5 seconds. However, when I use *35 and put in the numeric filename, I don’t see the email going out. What could be wrong ?

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Answers:

To use Dictation you dial *34 and then enter a file name with numbers, for example 1234#
Then you press 1 to switch to record mode, then * to start recording, you can then press * to pause again.
When you are done, dial 1 to switch back to playback mode, then press * to listen to your dictation.
When you have listen to it and you are satisfied just hang up.
To mail the dictation you dial *35 and follow the instructions.