DDNS Troubles

I’m new to Freepbx and have it working quite well with one exception. I cannot seem to figure out how to get ddns service working / set up properly. I’m sure I’m just missing something with NAT or something. I am not a network expert either so sorry. I’ve been through Wiki and all seems simple but it just doesn’t work.

My setup:
FreePBX 13.0.192.9
DDNS 99999999.deployments.pbxact.com
SIPSTATION for trunk service

I can access my network by going to this DDNS address so I know that part is working. Everything works great when, in Asterisk SIP settings, I have external address as my WAN Ip Address, Chan SIP Settings IP Configuration set to Static.

My ISP changes my IP address daily and I don’t realize the phones are down until I try to make a call. At this very moment, if I put my DDNS address in Chan SIP settings and change it to dynmaic it works. If I change my External Address to the 99999999.deployments.pbxact.com it works. BUT, when my IP address changes again today, it will all stop working. I have the time interval in system admin DDNS set to lowest 15 mins. 15 Mins is too long for phones to be down for one, but for 2, it NEVER updates and system never reconnects after an IP address change.

Thanks for any help you might be able to offer.

Your external WAN address should be your DDNS FQDN and your Address Type should be set to Dynamic. Leave it that way and your problems should stop (or at least slow to a pace where you can catch them easily).

1 Like

Under SIP settings you can set the Dynamic Host Refresh time to the value you want:

1 Like