Custom .conf files

Hi

I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to using FXO cards with FreePBX, I’ve only ever used SIP trunks before.

I have just installed a TDM400 FXO/FXS Card into my new FreePBX box. After playing around I have found 2 problems. The first is that CallerID in the UK doesn’t work and there is a bad echo.

However I have found that I can fix them by adding/updating the following to the following files:

/etc/atserisk/chan_dahdi.conf

usecallerid=yes
ukcallerid=yes
cidsignalling=v23 ; Added for UK CLI detection
cidstart=polarity ; Added for UK CLI detection
sendcalleridafter=2
callerid=asreceived ; propagate the CID received from BT.

/etc/dahdi/system.conf

echocanceller=mg2,1-2

The problem that I am experiencing is that if I reboot the box all is fine, however if I make a change to the FreePBX and click apply changes they all get overwritten.

Which custom files should I be adding these settings to?

Thanks!

Tom

Assuming you’re using one of the latest distros, you can add the chan_dahdi.conf entries through the web interface…

Connectivity / DAHDI - then select Global Settings from the menu on the right hand side. Some of the parameters are pre defined, and you just need to select the correct value. The others can be added through the ‘Other Global Dahdi Settings’ entry.

These settings generally survive a FreePBX change, but I’ve noticed that they sometimes revert back to default.

Another couple of useful options to add in this field (for UK BT) are:
Enable Echo Training (echotraining in the conf file)=800
hanguponpolarityswitch=yes
cidstart=polartiy

I’m not so sure about the best way to avoid the system.conf entry from being over-written. I have similar issues, but notice that this entry is only lost if I’m making specific DAHDI config changes. I just go back into the file and re-add the entry then restart DAHDI from the web interface.

Like you, I would like to find a way to avoid having to do this!