Creating extensions with Freepbx

I’m new to Freepbx/Asterisk, and I have a question regarding the creation of extensions in Freepbx. I am using FreePBX 2.10.0.0 and Asterisk 1.8. I was under the impression that the Freepbx GUI was able to handle everything Asterisk related, including the creation of extensions. I have created an extension using the GUI, which then outputs the information in the “sip_additional.conf” as follows (mind you, I did not edit this file manually, I used the GUI):

[1000]
deny=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
secret=test123
dtmfmode=rfc2833
canreinvite=no
context=from-internal
host=dynamic
trustrpid=yes
sendrpid=no
type=friend
nat=yes
port=5060
qualify=yes
qualifyfreq=60
transport=udp
encryption=no
callgroup=
pickupgroup=
dial=SIP/1000
mailbox=1000@device
permit=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
callerid=device <1000>
callcounter=yes
faxdetect=no

Now the problem is that I cannot register any softphone (using X-lite 4) to my Freepbx server on 192.168.30.161 when using only the GUI.

My softphone config is set up like this:

User ID: 1000
Domain: 192.168.30.161
Password: test123
Display Name: 1000
Authorization name: 1000

It is also set to Register with the domain and receive calls.

This does not work. On the other hand it does work if I input the exact same information in the “sip.conf” file, or if I include (#include) an external file “sip_custom.conf” and add the information manually in there.

So my question is, is this how Freepbx is supposed to work, by manually editing files? If it is not, than I would appreciate it if anyone could point out what I’m doing wrong, because the same applies for the SIP trunk too.

You don’t need the username parameter, you have something else wrong.

Is the softphone registering? Are you getting any errors in the log?

What kind of softphone is this?

We have hundreds of thousands of systems in use worldwide with millions of extensions (we really should put up a cool stats page) and have never seen this request.