Copying old HDD to new HDD via USB

Having followed along on a thread regarding an HDD failure, I have a system with FreePBX 15 distro installed and working well. I forgot to replace the old HDD with a new solid state HDD and my options are,

Install New and restore backup requesting a new Zend reset or

Copy the old drive to the new drive and hopefully make the new drive bootable. One big issue I have, and it may not be an issue, is that my FreePBX box, as well as anything else I have, only has one SATA port. Go figure… well, I have a dell with two SATA ports but I simply don’t have the hard drive to hard drive type cable this connector on the MB supplies. Looks just like the rear of a SATA drive. So my only alternative is hooking up the SSHD via USB and an adapter.

I tried Clonezilla, had it copy the MBR and etc, but the new SSHD just booted to a Grub prompt and I have no experience with GRUB or what to enter to boot the box or make it work/boot permanently.

SO… my question is; what cloning software will work with a HDD/SSDD via USB and without further messing around to allow the new drive to boot as it should. OR, has anyone used Clonezilla and had a new drive boot normally?

Or go thru the time to reinstall on the new drive and do a restore.

Thanks so much!

John

look into Mondoarchive if the system is working

Im not sure how you did the clonezilla thing, but just a local drive to local drive has yet to fail for me , even if they are only ‘local’ by a long stretch of the imagination :wink:

If the probem remains try using images a third party machine (can be in the cloud)

Thanks Dicko!

I basically just used the dummy beginner prompts to do a local disk to local disk and had Clonezilla copy the MBR. And yes the system was operational. One thing was Clonezilla couldn’t ID the SSHD as it was brand new but still copied everything… just no boot. Anyway, I’ll look into Mondo.

John

https://www.supergrubdisk.org/