Confirm i'm planning on doing the right thing?

OK, so I’m not starting a “resolve my audio problems” thread; I’ve read as many of them as I can and I don’t want to appear to be lazy.

What I would really appreciate some help with, is to confirm, if having read all those KB articles and threads, the changes I’m planning to make will make a difference, break anything or could be better made. I’m new to FreePBX (and Linux) so any help is greatly appreciated. So…

System: FreePBX 2.5.2.6
Asterisk server (really sorry, no idea what version this is), I DO know it is running its own FW… does this have ALG in it???
Firewall (ZyXEL) - it has no ALG on it.
We have a single, fixed external IP.

Changes to FW:
Enable it (yes really… I’ve only just started with this company, so don’t hate me)
Add services for following ports - SIP(5060) Rtp (10,001-20,000)
Allow those ports for all remote VoIP users (they all have fixed IP’s)
Allow all UDP traffic for the IP’s of my VoIP trunks service provider
Remove NAT forwarding rules that currently do (un-securely) all the port forwarding
On FreePBX:
Update /etc/hosts file with new line
"127.0.0.1 x.x.x.x"(our external IP)
Update SIP_general_custom.conf with
localnet=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
nat=yes
Update /etc/asterisk/rtp.conf with Rtp start port change - "10001"
rtpstart=10001

One final question: lots of these files have commands/configs written one after another, i.e. no tab or ; separator or separate line… does this make a difference to how they are read?

OK that’s it as far as I can tell. However, do I need to restart anything i.e. services, the server… FreePBX? if so which and how?

thanks in advance for any help.

System: FreePBX 2.5.2.6 (as per 1st post)
Asterisk 1.4.26.2 (just did some looking around the various dirs and found the “version” file.)