Configuring postfix to send to local Exchange server

Hi all,

I have been banging my head against the wall trying to get this sorted but don’t seem to be getting anywhere! I’m not very experienced with Linux OSes so you might have to be a bit patient with me!

Basically what I am trying to do is have postfix send voicemails to the local Exchange server. This server is running SBS 2011 and is on the same subnet as the FreePBX server.

The FreePBX server was installed using the distro download on this website: Stable-3.211.63-10
Release Date-06-02-13
FreePBX 2.11, Centos 6.3
Asterisk 1.8, 10 or 11

Asterisk 11 was selected during the install. E-mails don’t need to be routed outside the domain, all voicemails are going to mailboxes on the local Exchange server.

The FreePBX server isn’t joined to the domain but has been added to the list of IP addresses permitted to send mail through the Exchange server.

I know that I need to edit the main.cf file which I have been doing but must have something wrong in my configuration.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

You need to add the FreePBX IP as a trusted sender to exchange then just add the Exchange server IP as a “smart host”

An example is already in the main.cf file

Don’t forget to restart postfix after editing the file (service postfix restart). Check the /var/log/maillog for errors on startup and by all means edit the file on the machine (with vi or nano), don’t make the mistake of downloading the file,editing it on a Windows machine (changing the character set to Windows) the uploading it back.

I had a guy trying to edit the files in word and wondering why they didn’t work!

Let us know you got it sorted out.

Thanks, it is sending e-mails OK after adding the IP to the trusted senders list. Problem 1 down, about 100 to go!

I don’t see the section you’re talking about in the main.cf file. What do you mean by "add the Exchange server IP as a “smart host”?