"Close" and "Open" an extension to dial dynamically

Hi Everybody,

This seems a really active and helpful community. Im pretty new to FreePBX so im sorry if i make a newbie question. I work for an hotel which has finally accepted that Avaya is not the “future”. We need to integrate the PMS (Property Managment System) with Asterisk to perform some hotelier stuff (voice mail, caller_id etc). We pretty much figure out how to do some stuff but one is bugging our mind if how we can dynamically when the PMS perfoms a guest check in let know Asterisk to change the DIALPLAN to allow calls, and the when a checkout is flagged modify the extension to close the line. In our PMS we can generate a script or file to be read by freepbx. Does anyone can point out what files or tables in mysql (in case we have to) modify. My logic says that i can create a config file and have amportal reload the configuration…

Again thanks for your help!

I would not touch the config files.

There is an APC to update extensions. I would just do that and use a con job to check for the PMS updates.

You could also write a script to clear out the VM files on checkout.

Thanks for your help and sorry to ask but what APC stands for? … .as i said im newbie to freepbx and asterisk…my background is java :-/

API, poor typing on my phone…sorry.

2 Likes

In my opinion, @SkykingOH is absolutely right. I would leave the config files alone. You will, on the other hand, need either a custom context or commercial module.

Search Sourceforge for “Java Asterisk API” and you should find a couple of interfaces. That will get you a comfortable programming environment to make your changes. You might not need to do any Java, but once you start to see how the interface works, you’ll see how to interact with the system.