Can't setup Cisco 7960 Phones

I am quite new to FreePBX and SIP. I started a new position at a company that is running an old version of FreePBX. I am simply just trying to get some extensions and phones setup and am having some trouble. I finally was able to get the end point manager setup and have the phone I am trying to get working on the end point manager list. It’s showing as disconnected. I added the extension and everything looked fine. I can see a SIPXXXXXXXXX.cnf file in the /tftpboot directory for this device, however when plugging it in, all I get is: “Phone unprovisioned.”

I tried the same thing with another phone, and this error was, “tftp file not found” even though I could see it in the /tftpboot directory on the FreePBX. If someone can point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it. Eventually I will be installing a the latest version of FreePBX and starting this phone system from the ground up.

FreePBX version: 1.87.29.55-2
Asterisk version: 1.8.7.1

Thanks,
Kyle

Is your DHCP server setting option 66 or are you manually configuring the tftp for the phone?

BTW, that’s not a very old FreePBX

Yes, the DHCP server setting option 66 is setup. I believe I may have had a bad phone, because I can’t even get into the settings on it when pressing settings while it boots.

The other phone shows a paddle-lock under configuration, and I cannot get I don’t know the unlock code. Read somewhere that **# will unlock it but that won’t work either. It’s hard to say what the deal is since I don’t know if these phones are good or bad. The previous IT staff didn’t leave any notes.

I was assuming it was an older version of FreePBX, because from what I’ve read you can’t upgrade this version to the latest? Am I wrong?