Cannot dial extensions from within announcements or queues

Greetings,

I’m running a fairly recent install, with FreePBX 2.3.1.3 on CentOS 5.x. I’m a bit new to FreePBX but I’ve got things mostly working properly. My one major problem right now is that it’s impossible for a caller to direct dial an extension in this system. As you can well imagine, this is causing problems.

My configuration is such that when a call is answered it goes through some announcements and time condition checks, then if we’re open (according to a time condition) dumps the call in a queue. If we’re not open, it plays back a final goodbye and hangs up. I am not using an IVR. Our old, home-brew, asterisk install (which was done by someone else) had no problems doing this.

I already tried using an IVR as a “work around” but it was unreliable at best. Sometimes it would transfer, other times it would just hang up.

What do I need to do to allow direct dialing either during announcements or while in queue?

I find it hard to believe that nobody has any interest in this topic, it seems to be a GO-NOGO bug to me.

What do I need to change in my configuration to allow dialing an extension during announcements or while in a queue?

to little concret details to offer any help.

what is your incoming trunk? Sip, Zap, etc.

Almost most sounds like a dtmf detection issue to start.

Why would the IVR be a work around and not the solution? I understand that you had troubles with it; why not trouble shoot that?

IVR is the way to go. Ensure you have your xtn’s on a different range to your options, in other words if you have extensions in the range of 100 to 199, then dont have an option 1 in the IVR.

It will work if you do, but it’s best not to. Also, it works for everyone else so it should work for you.

Build the IVR with the announcement you need, enable direct access to the xtn’s and debug from there - it should work fine.

Finally, what trunks are you using? it may be a DTMF detection problem.