Callers ID does not show phone number

When someone calls my lines it doesn’t show the caller ID but just “unknown number”.
What must I do to get it to show the incoming CID/number?

That depends on a lot of stuff:

1. Are you expecting a CID from your provider?
  2. Do you have Caller ID Superfecta set up?
  3. How does your provider send CID?
  4. What technology are you using to connect your phone system to the world?
  1. I am assuming that it comes from my pstn provider

2. I will say no because I do not even know what this is

3. No Idea i will have to call and find out

4. Not quite sure if I understand but I’m using dahdi

Sorry if i don’t answer as expected im new to this.

As a general rule - the more information you provide up front, the better the quality of our answers.

So, things like where you are and what kind of system you are running are handy. We’re all volunteers here, so we don’t have any way of knowing stuff about your system, even if you asked a question yesterday.

So, on DAHDI, the Caller ID information usually comes in “around” the first ring. Some providers send it as late as just before the second ring. Knowing how long that delay needs to be could help you catch the Caller ID when it’s sent.

Other technologies (SCCP, SIP, IAX2, etc.) send Caller ID in different ways using different formats. Each of those channel drivers handles CID.

Another interesting note: Caller ID is different than Direct InDial (or DID). The CID is the number of the person making the call, so it should always be different from your number (which is the DID). When working with DAHDI, DID has to be handled differently than other technologies because the DID isn’t actually sent from the provider - you already know your number, so why send it.