CallerID sometimes not received from SPA3102

I’ve been running FreePBX for several years, mostly to block junk calls. My SPA3102 is connected to my landline and configured as a trunk in FreePBX. Everything works fine, EXCEPT sometimes CallerID isn’t received from the SPA3102 by FreePBX. I know there WAS valid CallerID info because it shows up on my phone that’s connected to the landline. But FreePBX gets “pstn1” as the CallerID (which is the Subscriber Information User ID on the PSTN Line tab of the SPA3102) and “UNKNOWN NAME” as the CNAM (which is the Subscriber Information Display Name on the same tab).

Most times CallerID comes across fine, but 10-20% of the time it comes in as pstn1/UNKNOWN NAME, which means a spam caller gets through. Blacklisting pstn1 isn’t an option because it will indiscriminately block calls that didn’t get CalerID from from the SPA, including valid calls.

Has anybody else run into this? I looked through the SPA configuration menus for anything that could possibly be tweaked, but all I found was Regional/Caller ID Method (set to “N.Amer,China”) and Caller ID FSK Standard (set to “bell 202”).

Any suggestions appreciated!

Found that I didn’t have the latest firmware for the SPA3102, so I have upgraded it to the latest. Will see if that makes any difference…

I doubt that this has anything to do with FreePBX – after a failed call, see what the SPA’s info page shows for ‘Last PSTN Caller’.

IMO, it’s likely that the SPA sometimes fails to parse the caller ID because of noise or signal level issues.

What country are you in? Is your landline a copper pair to the central office? If not, please explain (Digital Voice from ISP, Vonage box, etc.) Any non-voice devices on the line (alarm, fax, etc.)? If so, how are they connected? Any multi-line phones? DSL service? SPA firmware version?