Call Pickup (**EXT) security

I have run into an issue with call pickup security using **EXT and I felt the need to share my concerns with the FreePBX community and post a fix that I wrote. I don’t know the proper way to post code changes, so this seemed to be the best place to start. You can view more information about what led up to this here and, more recently, here. To summarize, ANYONE can pick up ANY RINGING EXTENSION using **EXT the way it is currently written.

The way this fix works, is it gets the devices callgroup and pickupgroup parameters when the user clicks the submit button on an extension, and inserts them into the internal asterisk database. the dialplan reads these attributes on an attempted ** call pickup and passes them to an outside python script which evaluates them and returns SUCCESS if the user is allowed to pickup that extension or APPERROR if they are not. The dialplan then takes care of the rest.

I am not a coder, but what I wrote worked for me. Here is what I did:

file: /var/www/html/admin/modules/core/functions.inc.php at line 675 of the original file.

original:

// Call pickup using app_pickup - Note that '**xtn' is hard-coded into the GXPs and SNOMs as a number to dial
// when a user pushes a flashing BLF. 
if ($fc_pickup != '') {
	$ext->addInclude('from-internal-additional', 'app-pickup');
	$fclen = strlen($fc_pickup);
	$ext->add('app-pickup', "_$fc_pickup.", '', new ext_NoOp('Attempt to Pickup ${EXTEN:'.$fclen.'} by ${CALLERID(num)}'));
	if (strstr($version, 'BRI')) 
		$ext->add('app-pickup', "_$fc_pickup.", '', new ext_dpickup('${EXTEN:'.$fclen.'}'));
	else
		$ext->add('app-pickup', "_$fc_pickup.", '', new ext_pickup('${EXTEN:'.$fclen.'}'));
}

modified:

// Call pickup using app_pickup - Note that '**xtn' is hard-coded into the GXPs and SNOMs as a number to dial
// when a user pushes a flashing BLF. 
if ($fc_pickup != '') {
	$ext->addInclude('from-internal-additional', 'app-pickup');
	$fclen = strlen($fc_pickup);