Call forwarding to outside line

I am using bandwidth.com for my incoming lines on a TrixBox 2.0 / FreePBX 2.4 installation and I have never been able to get a fax line to operate properly. I have now purchased a regular Qwest copper phone line for my fax and I want to permanently forward one inbound phone number to that external fax line. Up to this point I have only been able accomplish this by registering a phone to an extension then forwarding from that extension to the external fax number and I am looking for a better way. I think I want this forwarding to utilize reinvite so my PBX will step out of the picture and let the original Faxing caller talk directly to the FAX. I’m sure this can be configured on the server but I am kind of new at this so any help someone can give me would be greatly appreciated.

The best thing you can do is talk with Bandwidth.com.

I’m going to assume that the calls coming in via SIP are using a codec with compression instead of ulaw or alaw (which would then only have a slight chance of working). Compression kills a fax transmission as it alters and/or removes parts of the signal and can interupt the exact timing needed to make things work.

The proper way is to have the Call at the Telco receiver point forwarded (i.e. bandwidth.com), NOT digitized, compressed, and then sent to you where you forward it out.

Audio compression works in part by removing parts of the audio signal that humans do not hear, or can hear ok without needing among other things. That process destroys the true signal that a fax system (aka modem) needs to detect to work properly.