Call custom PHP script

Hello everyone, I’m new to the world of FreePBX and was looking for guidence. I have a fresh FreePBX 13 install on a machine, and would like to add custom scripts. I have the scripts already made. One will take the caller ID and the Call ID and use it to find data in a seperate API, then insert it all into a MySQL database. The second one will happen when a user answers the phone. It will accept the call ID and the user’s extension and update the entry in the MySQL database where Call ID is the same. My problem is that I have no idea where to start with FreePBX to actually make the rules that will run the first script when a new call comes in and make the second script run when a user picks up the phone.

Any help/guidance would help me greatly. As I’ve stated, I’m completely new to FreePBX, so I apologize for any misunderstanding.

James sent me this link:
Astricon talk
It talks to using ARI to communicate with your Asterisk implementation. It’s going to be intimidating (this is DEEP magic) but I think you might find some interesting ideas in terms of getting your code to work.

Thank you. I’ll definitely watch through this.

So I watched that video and while it was informative, but he was talking about an application that will actively communicate with Aterisks. All I need is the caller ID, the call ID, and the ext of the user picking up. I don’t need to send anything to Asterisks, I just need to post/GET data from asterisks to my PHP scripts. Is that possible?

Yeah - that’s part of the appeal of ARI - it’s the easiest way I’ve seen to get that kind of information into a programming environment.

I wrote a system that does what you are describing a long time ago using an interface to the Asterisk CLI. That sucked. With the ARI interface, you get all of the event driven activities you could want and get them in a programming interface where you don’t have to write regular expression parsers.