Blacklist by Caller Name instead of Caller Number?

Is there a way to get FreePBX to blacklist by the caller id Name field, instead of just the caller id Number field? I’d like to get rid of any telemarketing calls coming from “unknown”, “-------”, “NOT LISTED”, and strings like that.

It looks like you should be able to do a custom script type thing; something that gets called right before or after blacklist-checking, but I’m still learning asterisk/freepbx, and I’m afraid I’d break things with newbie-ish tinkering.

Take a look at the privacy manager in “Inbound Routes” setup. This requires a caller to manually enter their CID if there is none. Since most telemarketers use automated dialing, entering A cid probably won’t happen.

In addition, it allows a person with a legitimate call which for some reason doesn’t transmit a CID to get through.

Bill/W5WAF

Yup, got Privacy manager turned on already, but what I’m looking for is some way to stop the telemarketer/charity/political calls where they have a large bank of numbers (too many to just blacklist) but are “nice” enough to have the same Caller ID name. Is there a safe way on an incoming route to “jump-in” with a script before it continues processing?

You can add a context to extensions_custom.conf and then use the Custom Destinations module to make it selectable as a destination. Or actually, the third-party Dialplan Injection module would be ideal for this, except I’m not sure whether it works under FreePBX 2.5.1.

The technique described at How to automatically reject calls from telemarketers and other “junk” callers might give you some ideas for doing what you want to do.

Thanks, wiseoldowl; those suggestions look like something I can tinker with. The WAF is high on this little project; she’s already asking “can it do this?” questions. It’s nice to have a wife that actually encourages puttering around with computers/electronics.