Beginner with backup/restore questions *HELP PLEASE*

While this is probably covered here 100 times, and I have probably posted it at the wrong location, I ask that someone please help me as I have reached a point that I am stuck.

I am a windows help desk tech at a medium sized construction company who recently took over all firewall and phone servers as well as all the windows servers.

I fuddled through fine adding users, changing things, etc, but I am stuck on a backup issue.

I belive PBX version is 2.9.0.15 (beginner here, please if this is wrong help guide me in right direction)

I am trying to migrate my pbx to a new server, with the latest and greatest FreePBX distro. I am trying to pull a backup off my old version, to deploy it in a new install i have setup in a virtual server on our network. Everytime I try and complete a backup, nothing happens. it looks like it completes, but the files never email, or save to my FTP that i configged. I verified that the FTP info is good. as is the email… however nothing.

So im wondering, one if anyone can help with that, and secondly, maybe easier, is there a location on the PBX server where these are saved, and how would a windows guy like myself go about accessing them!

SORRY for the uneducated approach, Im fairly decent in FreePBX, but I am horrible with Linux, so once out of the distro I am darn near useless.

Any help would really be appreciated.

** I have considered even just setting up the new one manually with extensions and settings, but i was hoping to explore this path first. Thanks for any help provided!

First, relax. We were all new users at some point, and it sounds like you’re approaching this from a perfectly reasonable method.