Backup/restore: reading/restoring bulk data into freepbx the manual way

INTRO
This is a bit of a noob tutorial for those who want to read in bulk data into a FreePBX machine that they may have created on another FreePBX installation. Basically if you want to have full control over just the bits you want to restore.

BACKGROUND
I have a warm spare backup box in case something goes wrong with my main machine. I keep it on an alternative cloud server. When I restore the backup from the main machine all sorts of things fall over because it seems to overwrite passwords and change IP addresses.
I gave up tryiing to figure out what was wrong (I am sure there is a solution but I couldnt find it and I am not that experienced nor a professional). I decided to just get most things in the manual way so as to not overwrite everyting.
Bulk handler does this well, but it is lacking ringgroups, pagegroups, trunk details and most importantly for me, the IVR which took me days to setup.
So my main aim here was to find out a way to just import the IVR setup manally from one machine to another and in doing so, found out I could get the ringgroups and pagegroups in as well so happy dayz!

Here we go.

A. SIMPLE WRITOUTS AND READ BACK IN

1. Bring in extensions and Inbound Routes (DID’s) via export/import using bulk handler.
  2. Bring in your asterisk phone book (if you use this) via its own export and import capabilities.
  3. Bring in your user manager users and groups via bulk handler but it wont work unless you make up a pwd because it doesnt write this out (so best to handle another way if this is important)
    Then edit each user and go into contact manager tab and add them to the User Manager group so that they appear in contact manager - I use contact manager to forward calls to some cell phones. There doesnt appear to be a way to add data into contact manager directly from the GUI.

B. GETTING YOUR OTHER DATA