All Circuits Are Busy Now - Dial failed for some reason with DIALSTATUS = CONGESTION and HANGUPCAUSE = 38

Hi,

I am not a techie but have managed to put together our asterisk server using Freepbx as our GUI.

This morning our phones were working fine and have been since I set this up in Jan 2014 but we were having issues with connecting to a few websites, which was due to DNS error. The DNS on the router was changed and rebooted. At the same time, the firmware was updated on the router (TP Link 150M Wireless Lite N Router).

Tried making calls on our Cisco phones but only got “All circuits are busy” error message (I am based in UK). I have been at this for hours and can’t solve it. I really would appreciate some pointers.

Thanks

This is the ending part of the error log

redacted logs by moderator

Forgot to mention, I also updated a few modules on Freepbx as well at the same time. Cant remember what they were though.

This is a network side error. They re likely experiencing an outage.

Hi James, I did think of that but our internet and phones are on the same network. Internet all works fine, internal calls all work fine. Just no incoming or outgoing calls.

From this portion of the log I think your PRI is down:

redacted logs per user request

Can you please give some information how to fix it. As I said initially, not much of a techie! :slight_smile:

Thanks

Call your provider tell them calls are being rejected with cause code 38

Thank you James. I shall call them on the morrow as they are closed now. I will provide an update after the call.

Hi, I have spoken to our provider, BT and they have confirmed everything is working fine on their end. We are using a TP Link TL-WR740N router. They did state to open ports on the router which we have but no difference. Thing is we never had ports open previously and everything was working fine.