Activation

We are migrating an installation of FreePBX 16 to a new server. We did a clean install on FreePBX 16 on the new hardware and would like to simply do a ‘restore’ from a backup of the old machine. New machine wants us to activate right away. Do we activate as a ‘new activation’ or as a ‘existing deployment’? Can we run both machines until we verify everything on the new one is correct before we deactivate the old one?

Each PBX must have a different deployment ID. If you have paid licensing on one that you wish to transfer to the other, you can use this method to transfer the deployment ID: How to Move a Deployment ID to a new PBX - PBX GUI - Documentation