Activate / Deactivate forwarding on Grandstream phone

Hey,

I am really new to the freepbx topic. I would like to have the following scenario:

When I come to my office, i click one button on my GRP2612W and switch this phone to something like “activate” so that all calls come to this phone. When i leave the office i set the status to “away” and all calls will be forwarded to my mobil phone.

Is this possible? May you can give me some tipps :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot

You can setup Follow Me to ring your cellphone as well, and then program a BLF key on your phone with *21EXT (replace EXT with your extension) or a Speeddial of just *21. This will toggle your Follow Me.

Additionally, I like to setup Follow Me with call confirmation enabled, so that you know upon answering that it is a call through the office, and Voicemails don’t end up in your cellphone’s voicemail.

Thanks, and is there also a possibility that i can see on the phone if follow me is activated or deactivaed?

Yes, as explained, you can setup a BLF [1] key to monitor the status of Follow Me.

[1] https://wiki.freepbx.org/display/PHON/BLF+-+Busy+Lamp+Fields

Edit: if you want to mass update all phones with such a BLF, you can use the value of *21__line1Ext__
This will automatticlly add the extension number associated with the device.

In addition to the “single phone” approach, you can also use a Time Condition to automatically set your “here” and “away”. The nice thing there is that you can override the time condition from a button on your phone. Instead of a single phone approach, this could be set up to work for all of the phones in the system.

I use a simple ‘automatic’ system – Follow me is set so when the desk phone is unanswered for about ten seconds, it starts to also ring my mobile.