9 To Select Outside Line

I’d like to configure pressing 9 to select an outside line. I have two PSTN Comcast lines and buttons configured on my phones to select them. I’d like to be able to press 9 to select the next unused line. How do I do that?

So thinking about this, how about a custom dial plan in extensions_custom.conf on 9 that will select my first trunk, if busy select the second trunk, and if busy play a busy tone and hang up. Does that make any sense? Any wizards here know how to write this?

I’m just a country chicken lawyer, but isn’t this the hard way?

Is there a problem with putting the lines into an outgoing group and using them as a single group trunk?

If there’s a reason not to do that, a different way (without custom code) is to set up a pair of outgoing routes, one that expects ‘9’ as the first digit and one without. Set up each port as a trunk (top and bottom of the card).

The ‘with 9’ route would point to Trunk Top then Trunk Bottom,
The ‘without 9’ route would point to Trunk Bottom then Trunk Top.

Like I said though, there are lots of hard ways to do this too, so knock yourself out and let us know how it went.

I’ve already got the outgoing routes. I’m not sure what you mean by a single group trunk.

I’m starting to see that asterisk people want you to just dial a number with a 9 in front of it while you have a system dial tone and that selecting an outside line is somehow “old” behavior. But this old behavior is what everyone expects. It’s how the brand new system in my wife’s office works. It’s what my housekeeper tried to do on this system before I gave her a tutorial.

A 9 for a real dial tone seems like a reasonable thing.

If you were giving them a “real dial tone”, I’d agree with you. It’s not the way a PBX works. No matter what they do, the dial tone is coming from the PBX. That’s why we don’t talk about “choosing your trunk” or “which line you are calling out on.” The PBX manages all of the outbound lines.