800 carrier to just forward to land line?

I have a client that uses a ton of toll free minutes. The DID is right on the PBX. Killing our margin. What would you guys recommend for a 800 number service that is little cost that just does a forward to our pbx main number? We are seeing a lot of incoming usage on this DID and want to save cost.

IMO, your request does not make sense. If the 800 provider has to forward to a PSTN number, they’ll be paying termination so will have to charge more. In addition, your incoming number costs you, either per minute or per channel.

https://www.bulkvs.com/orig.html offers toll-free origination at $0.0055/min. I have no experience with them. You could order a test TF DID and kick the tires.

https://signalwire.com/disruptive-pricing is $0.0107/min. They have proven reliable for geographic DIDs, but I’ve not used them for toll free. However, their trunks require registration; if you are using IP authentication now and your network is somewhat flaky, this could reduce reliability somewhat.

Another option is https://www.alcazarnetworks.com/origination_tf.php at $0.0125/min. Although their origination is reliable, I had a poor experience with them for termination some years ago. I don’t know whether they have improved.

I am looking for a hand off from the 800 number to the main DID of the customer. I want to avoid them having to pay by the minute for toll free. The toll free would forward to a DID so toll free wouldn’t be in use at that point.

That’s not how that works. Toll Free is traditional a Ring-To setup and still is in most cases. SIP carriers allow you to route the Toll Free straight to your destination instead of to a local number then to your destination.

You’re paying for the Toll Free usage with a forward/ring-to or a direct destination setup.

1 Like