3CX trend has me concerned as a new user of FreePBX

Hi
I am new to FreePBX I have used asterisk but new to this solution. I was planning on using FreePBX and Elastics and Impeccable etc… But 3CX has pretty much taken over Elastics and impeccable. 3CX seems as a company to be someone I do not want to work with and will not work with them but do not want to bad mouth anyone so will not get into why. Please tell me FreePBX is NOT going the same rout??? I do not want to spend weeks and $ learning it to have it end up as 3CX. One of there sales folks considers FreePBX as the enemy.

I think you mean Elastix not Elastics and Incredible not impeccable and even there PbxInAFlash not Incredible (which is still FreePBX, yes confusing) , both where once based on FreePBX, but culturally I think you will find that 99.99% of the folks here are not impressed by those sell-outs, it is impossible for 3CX to buy FreePBX because it is open-source and just can’t be.

Whilst you will likely spend weeks getting up to speed, you don’t have to spend a penny to deploy and use FreePBX.

Dicko
Clatuo mirada nickto

Or thank you That is reassuring. I do not mind paying but good to know it is an option. Sorry, my spelling in English is terrible. The spell checker gave me elastics and decided incredible should be impeccable. It also says my sister Glenda should be Gland. So I just call her Gland.
You take care dicko
Jim Bronson

Actually
Gort Clatue Mirada Nicktoe

You will note we essentially employ the entire elastix development staff. I won’t post any assumption of the 3CX business model but I will say there is no risk here. Sangoma cares deeply about the FreePBX community and ecosystem. When Sangoma took over stewardship they kept all of the staff and structure in place because it wasnt just a trademark grab. The users are not just a random metric. The community matters, the users matter.

3 Likes