2 Locations 1 System

I am new to open source PBXs…I have a customer that has 2 locations in the Los Angeles area. Currently, Location A has the system…there are phones at both location A and location B. The system is an Free PBX Open Source 2.2.3 I believe. Anyhoo, both sites are working fine. I tried to move a phone from Location A to Location B and now…I get dial tone but can not dial anything (extensions or outside). I thought it might be a LAN switch port setting so I connected the phone to a working port and still nothing.

What am I missing?

NB

How are the two locations connected together? VPN or just plain internet?

It sounds like the phone you moved is not registering. Probably the phone is trying to register to the internal IP address of location A, but now needs to register to the external IP address of Location A. Check the registration settings for the phones at location B and make the moved phone the same.

M

I checked the setting on the physical phone (not in programming but on the phone display itself) of a working station at Location B and compared those to the settings on the phone in question and they are identical. The strange part is that I get dial tone on the non-working phone, but can not dial out…so you’re correct, it looks like it is not registering.

Is there a setting in any of the .conf files that I should look for?

Thank you…

Hi All,

I have new info…When looking at each phone on site…I pulled up the phone menu and went under the Status/platform/configuration menu and found the difference between a working phone and a non-working phone…there are 4 files on each phone:

Working phone:
x218.cfg
site1.cfg
phone1.cfg
sip.cfg

Non-Working phone:
x212.cfg
site2OFFSITE.cfg
phone1.cfg
sip.cfg

How do I get rid of the site2OFFSITE.cfg file and set this extension up with site1.cfg?

Thank you in advance,
Ger

Sorry this is beyond my knowledge - what type of phones are they?