Google Voice to DID to Extension = OK, but if the call ends on IVR = Google Voice voicemail

Hello:

I’m pretty new to the Asterisk/FreePBX scene, but did a lot of reading and was able to figure most of everything out, except this one thing. Here’s the situation and my setup.

I have a Google Voice trunk/inbound route/outbound route setup using the Google Talk client on Asterisk 1.8.4. Outbound calls are OK but I get unreliable results with inbound calls. I tried adding a Wait of 8 and sending DTMF of 1 and 11 as recommended by a few people on this forum but that didn’t improve the reliability of my system. It picks up every x calls, inconsistently.

Another thread I read earlier this week suggested to get a DID from another provider and forward the Google Voice number to that number. I got a free DID from IPComms and configured the trunk and inbound route. Everything works flawlessly and my IVR picks up every single time, no exception when I call my IPComms DID directly.

I deactivated the forward to Google Talk in my Google account and forwarded my Google Voice number to my IPComms number. I was able to confirm my IPComms number with Google Voice by setting my IPComms incoming route destination to an extension connected to a phone. When setup to ring to that extension it is 100% reliable, every single call to my Google Voice number is connected as soon as I answer the phone and I don’t have to push “1” to accept the call. It connects just like a regular phone, 100% of the time.

Here’s the problem. If I change the destination of the IPComms incoming route to ring an IVR instead of an extension, I can see Asterisk picking up, from the FreePBX System Status page, and I can see in the history of my IPComms that Asterisk really picked up the call and stayed online for 25-30 seconds, but the person calling never gets connected to the IVR and ends up on the Google Voice voicemail.

Just to be clear, here’s a recap:

• Call IPComm DID > Extension = Answer