What are my update paths?

I have been running FreePBX for a few years now, and I am surprised every day how stable and feature rich it is. It is so stable that it keeps on running and I don’t even take a look at it for weeks and months. Kudos to everybody who is involved with this.
A few days ago I was prompted by my SIP provider that they were retiring the server I was using, and to switch to another server. That required that I switched to PJSIP, and that required a bunch of updates. So, right now the system I am running is FreePBX 12.0.76.6 with Asterisk (Ver. 13.9.1) on Centos, and FreePBX tells me that the support of PJSIP is experimental. So far, though, it has worked fine.

On the other hand, I think it may be time to switch to a newer version, but I don’t really know how. I had to hunt for a while on the web to find how to install Asterisk 13 for the PJSIP support, but I don’t have a clue how to upgrade my system to a newer version of FreePBX and Asterisk, without having to start from scratch and having to configure everything again (which is not really what I am looking to do). What is actually the latest freePBX version available? And can I upgrade from my current version? Will that automatically upgrade Astereisk? If not, what is the correct order to do this?

So, any hint towards that goal is appreciated…

Thanks.

Latest FreePBX version is 15, which happily for you is the first version that supports restore from legacy backup. IMO your most painless way forward is to:

1. set up a new FreePBX Distro system using FreePBX 15/Asterisk 16
  2. take a backup of the old system
  3. restore the backup on the new system

This gives you a fairly comfortable window to test new features while your existing system soldiers on, as well as a platform on which you can test pjsip. If spare hardware for a new server install is not at hand, you can get an instance at Vultr (or any of its kin) for a few pesos a month.

1 Like