Virtual Extension

Pardon my ignorance, but this is my first time setting up a FreePBX system. This may be a very basic questions.

We are running Asterisks 2.11.0.9

I am attempting to configure our system that a second extension rings on a group of phones. I am assuming based on other systems I have worked with that this is done via the creation of a Virtual Extension, i.e, I want button two on everyones phone to be programmed to pickup Virtual Extension 150.

I have not been able to get the phone to registser the Virtual Extension. I have set the username as the extnsion number on the phone configuration and password=secret.

Should I be using a virtual extension to achieve this task? If not, can someone suggest a another way? If so, what am I missing?

Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob

I assume that you want a group of phones to ring if the original extension does not answer? I would create a ring group and put all of the extensions you want to be in this group. Go to the original extension, Follow Me settings, and put the ring group extension in the follow-me list. You can vary the initial ring time and ring time settings to get the desired result.

What I am hoping to do is have the virtual extension ring on the end users phones, i.e., button one their phone is there personal extension and button 2 is the virtual extension.

Do you know if this is possible? This way they will know if the call is ringing directly to them or if someone is calling the virtual extension.

I appreciate your help.

It is not really a virtual extension if your intention is to assign it to a button on a phone.

Use a real extension.

And you can only assign one phone to one extension.