USB WIFI ADAPTER

Hi … I’m very new to this … in everything … linux inclusive…I’m setting up a test server for a project but it does not have ethernet connections available.
Is it possible to install a usb wifi network adapter?
Thank you very much for the help.

yes, as long as your network can access the FreePBX resource and the connection is stable.

Please explain your setup and constraints in more detail.

Are you using the FreePBX Distro, or installing from scratch? If the latter, which OS have you chosen?

Is it the server location that doesn’t have Ethernet, or is it the machine you are installing it on? If the latter, I’d recommend using a USB Ethernet adapter instead, but if you have an existing USB Wi-Fi adapter that you’d like to use, post make and model.

If the location is Wi-Fi only and this is a one-time exercise or demo, I suggest connecting your laptop to the facility’s Wi-Fi and using bridging or Internet Connection Sharing, connecting the laptop’s Ethernet jack to the PBX.

If you install a Wi-Fi adapter on the server, it can’t possibly work ‘out of the box’ – you will at least have to configure it with the correct network name and password, and may need to install drivers and/or firmware as well. This means that you will need another way to connect to the server for setup, either with a keyboard and monitor, or via a serial port.

Also, if your server will use SIP trunks over the internet, the Wi-Fi connection may have firewall rules or other restrictions that will prevent that from working. Possibly, even phones on the same network won’t work, if ‘guest isolation’ or similar is in use.

thanks for answering … could you guide me how to install the adapter? at least in a general way. keep in mind that I am very new.