Upgrading from 2.6 to 2.9

Maybe I just need to give this a try and see how far I get, but I am new to this and you dont know what you dont know. I need to upgrade from free pbx version 2.6.0 to 2.9 and would like some direction. The current 2.6 is Asterisk (Ver. 1.4.26.3

It seems that I can upgrade from 2.6 to 2.9, but not sure if Asterisk will stay the same version after this upgrade or if it needs to upgrade at the sametime.

I have our production server copied into a lab enviroment, so I will not blow anything up, but do not have the ability to spin my wheels on this for too long, so I thought I would see if anyone had any direction.

Any advise and direction would be great.
Thanks

You will need to update asterisk as that is also a old Asterisk and FreePBX 2.9 officially does not support 1.4 anymore.

Ok. I will look into what that will take to do. I don’t mind doing the research. Do you have any advise or direction on how to get started?
Thanks

Not really but good luck.

I am not sure with the information provided how you expected a rational answer?

By the versions you gave the system sure smells like a trixbox. If so you have to be very experienced to “untrix” the box.

How you upgrade depends on how you installed.

In general upgrade the FreePBX to 2.8 with your Asterisk 1.4 then install Asterisk 1.8 then upgrade your FreePBX to 2.9.