Unable to get A400 channels to do anything. wanpipe says failed to get voltage stats?

I’m trying to set up a FreePBX system at work to replace our old, terrible Vertical MBX IP. I just got an A400 card with 6 FXO ports and installed it, did passthrough to the VM. I have experience with FreePBX at home, but only using SIP trunks. I’m new to analog telephony cards.

FreePBX/Asterisk sees the card and ports just fine. It assigned channels 7-12 to the FXO ports. I’ve created a trunk and incoming/outgoing routes. Hopefully I did that properly. Nothing seems to work, though. If I try to dial outbound I just get 403 busy. Incoming doesn’t work, either. If I call the line, nothing happens. Nothing even shows in Asterisk’s log.

“wanpipe -i w1g1 -c astats -m 1” just returns “Failed to get voltage stats!”

Any tips for a newbie on what to check? Thanks!

I assume you have followed all the required steps after physically installing the card and before trying to use it, like executing wancfg to perform the initial card configuration.

Huh, thanks. I had no idea about this, the installation page on the wiki said nothing about wancfg.

There are a log of wancfg* binaries. Do I want regular wancfg, or do I want something else like wancfg_dahdi?

EDIT: Now that I think about it, I already ran wancfg_dahdi earlier after some Google searching turned up something about it. Sorry, it’s been a long day. I just ran it again, nothing changed. I still get the error about failing to get voltage status.

Are there instructions somewhere for just blowing out this whole wanpipe/dahdi config and starting over properly?

Okay, apparently the voltage status error is normal for FXO ports. So my problem seems to be something else.

Are you sure that the FXO modules are correctly seated on the card?