UI Team Wants To Donate Skins

Hi All,

I’m a UI designer that works on enterprise class projects for some major brands.

We use FreePBX at work and would like to give back a bit as we feel the current look/feel could be improved a lot.

I’m wondering two things:

1. Is there a source file for the Flash Operator Panel? We’d like to make it look a bit better and be more inline with the visuals from the site.

2. I can’t find any documentation on how the interface is stored in FreePBX, where should we start?

baron154,

well your timing is great because I just modified 2.9 for this very purpose.

As far as documentation, that is unfortunately lacking though hopefully some of the pioneers working on this can help to improve upon that.

Bas (on this forum) posted a great start of a design that he put forward on this thread:

http://www.freepbx.org/forum/freepbx/users/graphical-update-webinterface

I used that plus some other information as a basis to create the configurable settings that would allow one to implement a skin like this and used this for testing. The way it has been done, and with the new changes to the freepbx_conf settings (was amportal.conf, now in db), it would be fairly straight forward to make a very simple module that could install a new skin and upon removing, would reset it.

If you load up 2.9 (which would be from svn though I’m hoping to be days away from rolling a 2.9 alpha tarball) you can go to the advanced settings page (on the tools bar or a link in the general settings page) where you can see the parameters available to style/brand it.

The settings that were added are under “Styling and Logos” (you may have to bump up the ‘level’ at the top:

Legacy Right Logo:
Primary CSS Stylesheet:
Optional Additional CSS Stylesheet:
Alt for Footer Logo:
Alt for Left Logo:
Alt for Right Logo	:
Hide Header Menus: True/False	
Hide Right FreePBX Version: True/False
Hide Right Logo: True/False
Image: Footer:
Image: Left Upper:
Link for Footer Logo: