Trunk Call Forward

I’m relatively new to freepbx but think I have an OK understanding of most of what I’m asking. We have SIP Trunks into our building connected to our FreePBX. From there we have customer PBX’s connected via Trunks to our FreePBX and then routed out our SIP trunks.

When call for a DID to another trunk comes in on our SIP, the FreePBX routes the calls to custom destinations using the extensions_custom.conf file.

Because of this… UCP call forwarding does not work. I get that, I can make it work for regular extensions but not for the trunks… so is there a solution to this? How would I go about doing this, and can I do this where the customer is able to login and make these changes? I was debating trying to write code to read the db and route to a different trunk if this option is set for that DID / ucp user.

The customer is in a remote location and in the event of power loss, or seasonal shut down they want to call forward the number to X or Y number.

Thoughts?

I appreciate you taking the time to review this.

Just so we’re all speaking the same language:

• Trunks connect your PBX to another PBX, either unidirectionally or bidirectionally, depending on the remote provider’s needs. So, it’s possible for a single trunk to support many, many numbers to a single location through a single trunk.

• On an inbound call (from any of your trunks), the Inbound Route is selected based on inbound DID or inbound CID (or, far less commonly, both). It is, therefore theoretically possible for calls from all of your numbers to come in on the same trunk.

• For outbound calls, the trunk selection is based on the ordered list of trunks in the outbound route.

Once the number is received by your PBX, it is locally routed to the appropriate destination, which could be a queue, a ring group, or an extension.