Telephone Switch for Villages

Hi
I am an electronic engineer and I am also,
programming computers,actually I am looking to create a new telephone switch for our village,because our telephone switch is old and I want replace it with a new one.
But I have no idea where should I go,what should I need to do.
I want to know that if a PBX suits our need.
please guide and give me a solution.
Thanks
Best Regards

What is type of infrastructure are you working with? What type of endpoints/phones are in use?

If your infrastructure is poor and resources limited you can take a look at the Mesh Potato for connectivity http://villagetelco.org/mesh-potato/ It’s an Open-hardware project.

If you have a good copper plant back to the existing switch then you can use Asterisk/FreePBX, very well in fact. Just front end in with channel banks that have enough current to drive the copper.

You may find you already have existing channel banks in the form of T1C SLIC’s.

How many subscriber lines, how far from CO, what is the CO type, what type of trunks come into the village from the serving city?

Hi
Thanks for sending me this informations.
First I need to tell you that,the PSTN that connected to the village switch is working base on E1,and every home in the village has a copper wire pair linked to the village’s switch and I believe that a two core optical fiber came to village too,So I need to have a telephone switch,that can be connected to the PSTN based on E1 or V5 signalling system,and can be replaced easily with current switch.
It seems that the mesh potato project is wireless.
actually we need to replace the current switch and we are not looking for a wireless network.
Thank You Very Much For Sending Me This Information,
please tell me is a PBX system are going to suits our needs,
our what kind of telephone system I need to look for it.
Best Regards

Hi