System was hacked... Help please

Good day,

I’m very new to this, and not terrifically qualified to handle some of these issues…

We are running a FreePBX system in association with trixbox. We just recently took the system online and began making updates to get it setup with sipstation. In the process of launching that update, the system was hacked. Luckily, sipstation on my system isn’t setup for international calls, so that isn’t working, but the system itself has been compromised. We were hooked up to land lines, and they were able to use those for a night, those have since been disabled.

I’m trying to figure out how to fully lock it down so they can’t get in. It seems that per the logs, they’re still able to access, they just can’t make the phone calls they want to. They’re playing with different extensions that I haven’t built.

I was running freepbx 2.4, updated it to 2.8 with the update tool, but I’m not sure if fail2ban is even on this system, or how to get it there.

Sorry, I’m in a bit over my head here, just wanted to see if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

rwebb2

I don’t understand what “in association with trixbox” means.

You are using very old versions of FreePBX and if this was installed by trixbox then they are not even real FreePBX.

The trixbox project was abandoned several years ago.

If this is a new installation you should be using a supported version.

Security best practices for Asterisk and FreePBX are well documented on the Internet. If you are not familiar with IP security I would suggest you engage someone who does.

This system was installed and built several years back. I’m familiar with IP security… It’s SIP security that I’m having issues with.

I’m assuming someone is accessing my system with a softphone app thru something I’ve done wrong through port 5060…

trixbox and freepbx version 2.8 are running on the system. I program everything through freepbx though.

Thanks,

rwebb2