Struggling with basic installation - anyone willing to help?

Hi guys,

I’m just a newbie starting out on FreePBX but I think I’ve got the odds stacked against me because it shouldn’t be this hard just to install the system.

I’m using a VPS from OVH and they don’t seem to like me using the ISO Distribution to boot to. I tried to go the manual route but just got lots of errors. Not knowing the system, I don’t know if I’m going to need the “commercial modules” or not anyway so going this route might be a dead end.

I’m very familiar with IP and hosted PBX via our VPS’s but I’m not at all familiar with Linux so copying commands is really where I’m at.

Does anyone have the patience to walk me through this slowly? Should I just be finding an alternative VPS? I don’t want to do that as I have a whole bunch with OVH and I don’t really want to add another supplier and our price is based on our OVH cost also.

Appreciate any help I get. I know this installation stuff is boring for you when you know how to do it inside out.

Thanks,

Simple

Have you read these? I found them useful.

https://wiki.freepbx.org/display/PPS/Installing+FreePBX+10.13.66+Official+Distro

https://wiki.freepbx.org/display/FOP/Install+FreePBX

Why not just get VPS from freepbxhosting.com and not mess with any of this and it just works out of the box.

And if you do not want to use Sangoma’s solution (hard to beat though) as listed above, Vultr is a solid host that lets you use your own ISO files.

I wrote a section on setting up a Vultr instance in my FreePBX 13 guide. The Vultr bits would be the same for 14. Well most of it is the same.

Hi all,

Sorry - I don’t seem to be getting alerts of people’s replies, which is why I’ve only just seen your responses.