Remove excess digits from incoming DID

I am currently using FreePBX 2.9.0.7 with a small amount of extensions. The system is used to connect to a larger PBX (supporting hundreds of phones). When a call comes in (over a ZAP connection) from an extension on the other PBX, it comes with the DID of the internal extension with extra 0’s added at the end. For example, 3503 would come in as 3503000000. Outside calls come in the standard 1112223333 format (still forwarded through the other PBX). Is there a way to setup a conditional statement where if the last 6 digits are “000000” to remove those digits?

I’ve seen this line which I modified, but not sure how to set it up, or where to add it.

exten => _.,n,Set(DID=${IF($["${EXTEN:4:10}"=“000000”]?s:${EXTEN})})

I am not an expert, and have played around with Asterisk a bit, but don’t know all the commands. I am wondering if there is a way to do this in the GUI, or should I add it manually into the override file?

Any help or guidance would be appreciated.
Thank you,
Jason

http://www.freepbx.org/support/documentation/howtos/how-to-change-incoming-callerid

I looked at the above link earlier, but it only talked about removing digits at the beginning. I did however find out how to do it:

I added the following line to my from-dihdi in extensions_additional.conf:

exten => s,n,Set(CALLERID(num)=${IF($["${CALLERID(num):4:6}"=“000000”]?${CALLERID(num):0:4}:${CALLERID(num))})

However, I am not sure if this is the best location to put this. Will updates or configuration changes reset this file, or will it remember this now?

This works great for what I needed, and now, to work on an LDAP lookup so I know who’s calling.