Remote Extensions

Hey all, FreePBX Noob here.

I’ve got 2 systems - One’s a demonstration system with 8 Cisco 8841s I set up at the Career Tech Center I’m a student at, and the other’s being utilized for my job. We’re a business with a few remote offices and we’d like to interconnect them using means other than SMS or Facebook Messenger. The original plans are a central FreePBX Server at my office, a phone at my office, another at the main store, and a third phone at the office across town. The phones are going to be Cisco SPA504Gs. I can set up a extension within the office in my sleep, but what I’m struggling with is how to set up an extension to work from outside the network. I’ve had a ton of conflicting things told to me, so what’re the best ways to go about this? We’re also going to be adding softphones in the future, but if they’re of the same set of instructions as the Cisco phones, then that won’t be much of a problem.

Lots of options, but generally you need to use a VPN, on the phones or on the network.

Bonus, here is how to connect two boxes together:
https://wiki.freepbx.org/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=4161588

Be prepared for a lot of recommendations from here too. :slight_smile:

You’ve got several choices when it comes to registering remote phones. To be honest, going with a phone that does VPN internally is probably the easiest. Some of the Sangoma phones do that and are supported by the integrated VPN in the Distro. I’ve got zero experience with SPA phones on the OpenVPN that comes with FreePBX, so they might work, but there are other options that will get better support in this community.

Of course, a lot depends on a lot of stuff. It the IP addresses the phones pick up change from time to time, you’ll definitely need something with a VPN built it. The Adaptive Firewall component of the system can make your connections work, but it will invite a lot of script kiddie activity that drive some people nuts.