Redirect inbound call

Good morning/evening to all, im pretty new to Asterisk and FreePBX and im a newbie in this field, and i was trying to find a solution to “redirect” an inbound SIP call to a dynamic external number via sip trunk.

The flow i want to achieve is:

1. Incoming SIP call
  2. Asterisk reads destination number (from custom header)
  3. Call continues to ring until callee responds, so that the incoming SIP call becomes an outbound call to the destination

Is this possible?
I’ve already tried doing something like this:

exten => 900,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=callerid)
same => n,Dial(PJSIP/destination@trunk_name)
same => n,Hangup()

And it kind of works, but if not answered quickly the call drops after a few seconds of ringing

That should work and there should be no time limit other than any imposed by the upstream system on the incoming side, or the downstream system on the called side.

There are no time limits, the code works fine when i put Answer() as priority 1, but thats not the result i want

If Answer makes it work, I would suggest that the upstream system is timing out the call.

When i dial normaly to the trunk theres no ringing timeout, my guess is that Dial tries to connect the outgoing call to the channel, but its closed because Answer() hasn’t been invoked yet. I also saw in the logs that Dial “exits non-zero”

Dial doesn’t work like that. It doesn’t care whether the A side has already been answered. “Exits non-zero” means the calling party hung up, or aborted, or the call was answered by the called party and subsequently hung up by them, and the g option was not selected.

I would want to see the “pjsip set logger on” output for both sides. I expect you will see CANCEL from the calling side.

If the PBX is behind a NAT, confirm that the external router/firewall is properly forwarding the RTP port range to the PBX (default is UDP ports 10000-20000).

In the incoming trunk, try setting Inband Progress to Yes.