Question about firewalling

I have some knowledge of FreePBX, Sipstation and such. I am not 100% on how the transport of calls happen.

So Here is my question… I know the IPs of the trunks that I use, could I only allow these IPs to access my server coming in and out on my SIP ports?

I have no other phones outside of my Local Network, apart from a couple of cellphones that use IAX ports with a random IP, so that is not feasible. Anything else would be blocked from entry at my firewall, only to allow the few trunk providers.

I have not noticed an IP change on the most part in many years, apart from when Sipstation moved servers I believe, the only thing I would need to be aware of is if my trunk provider does change IP, of which would be very rare.

Thoughts on this? I need to secure my firewall from probing scum on the internet, I am seeing a lot of Fail2ban messages in my emails, and a lot of sniffing for open ports at my firewall.

Hi!

If your VoIP provider assures you that traffic always come from the same IPs you can do what you are suggesting, only allow traffic from their servers (I know at least a few providers do).

If your firewall allows it (I know pfSense, which I use, does) you can also use the FQDN host name of their servers for this (if they give you their server names) which can protect you against IP changes…

You can’t do that with all providers though and for some of them while the communication with port 5060 (or 5061 or possibly others) is done with servers for which you know the IPs but the RTP streams come from servers you don’t know the IPs of…

One of the providers I use is like that (the one I use for T.38 fax) so I could not put any ACL on my servers RTP ports (10000-20000).

Please take a look at the SipStation wiki, it looks like you will be in the same situation, see http://wiki.freepbx.org/display/ST/Configuration+of+SIPStation+Trunks

From that page:

I would like to secure my system. What IP addresses can I lock down open ports to?