Polycom Provisioning Problems

Let me start by saying I am COMPLETELY NEW TO THIS! A few weeks ago our phone system crashed, it was also freepbx however it was several years old… So when it crashed I called the original installer and had no luck, so I took it upon myself to build a new system! After about 3 hours of reading, 3 hours of trial and error I was able to get the new system up and running! SO to my problem, I used endpoint manager, to provision the phones in the office and it worked great! I am now having issues getting phones in satellite offices to work. I set them up in endpoint and pointed the phones to look for the server at our static IP and have opened and directed ports 5004-50082 and port 84 to the phone server but keep getting could not contact boot server. anyone have any ideas? Remember I am learning as I go…

I would like these to plug into any internet source and work, so I’m trying to stay away from a VPN project…

My interoffice phones are ip450 and work flawless for the most part (there is an occasional interoffice call that has no sound)

My Satellite office phones are ip330

I am running the latest Freepbx distro

Thanks In advance

How are the satellite office connected back to your main office? Are you using a VPN? Are you trying to point the phones at your public Internet interface?

Alan,

The satellite offices only connect back to the main office with RDP, Currently we do not use any VPNs. I used our Carrier provided static IP address (same one the RDP uses) as the provisioning server address.

For this to work you would need to allow the correct ports through your firewall. SIP, RTP and tftp or FTP or HTTPS for provisioning. This is very risky when not done correctly.

The easiest and most secure way is with a VPN.

Do your satellite offices have static public IP addresses? You could limit what addresses can get to your phone server with your firewall.