PBX for Similation

Hello

I’m pretty new to software PABX’s where normally I would just go for the obvious choice of an Avaya or Samsung Unit, but I’m putting together a solution for a training program where for 5 days the student are in scenario based simulation (Humanitarian- Disaster context).

Currently we have been working in a closed LAN for email etc (internet not available) and using VHF Radio for talk.
I would now like to add the to the Sim the use of real phones ie each fictitious organisation would have a phone in each base of operations that they could call back to their HQ (virtual command center) or could call the other organisation that are part of the same simulation I think around 20-25 extensions would be required.
For ease of use I was hoping that some sort of hands free could be used as well as working on IP network as each hut being used as a base has a Ethernet connection as well as wifi access.

Would FreePBX cater for this type of scenario ? and if so where do I start ? what is the hardware requirements, etc.

Thanks everyone.

Hi @Shugg66

Super Easy.
Get a suitable PC/Server,
install FreePbx
Do a bit of Config.
You can then simulate anything you need to telephony wise.

Not sure on machine spec, but quad core or i5/i7
You will want to record everything so BIG drive for storage (or off-box)
4 to 8 Gig Ram should do you

but someone with more knowledge will give a better spec perhaps.

But what you are attempting is VERY easy.

Hv.

Good I’m glad its possible, so does the phones need to be of a certain kind ? or will cheap IP phones suffice.
The solution is not looking for all the bells and whistles of hunt group, call group or messaging etc its very basic requirements and as agile as possible.

cheers

Hey @Shugg66

No, Any SIP phones or Smartphone with SIP clients on them would work.

OR even PAP/ATA devices to allow connection or Regular OLD landline phones.

OR any combination of the above

But Remember that SIP is not the same as VOIP.