Pauses with option to continue in IVR?

Hi,

I currently have Freepbx version 2.10.1.9 installed with Asterisk Ver. 1.8.10.0. I am kind of new to Linux and Asterisk, but I have been using FreePBX for about a year now. I am a newbie user compared to most people here.

I have set up a few IVR menus, but I wanted to create one for client support where the person would select a topic and then they would get a walk-through as to how to solve a problem or configure an option. So that the person has time to click and do what they need to do, I wanted to add pauses in the middle of the text in several points where the person could, for example, press 1 to continue.

Is that possible or does anyone know how I could do this?

Please let me know if you need more info on my installation. As I said, I am kind of a newbie.

Thank for any help.

I don’t see a question in your post.

What part are you having trouble with? Have you created your recordings? Are you struggling with the pause option?

The easiest way to pause would be to make a one option IVR and move on to the next accouncement.

I would highly suggest recording these on a PC with a quality microphone and a little bit of speech compression (not digital compression, most of the new PC recording software have gates/compressors on the channels). Or consider having them professionally voiced.

Oh I should mention I like Audacity, it’s free and has tons of channel effects. Sonar is also a nice inexpensive PC based recording software. I use a Samson USB condenser mic that is awesome. Before I got this I used a small Alesis mixer with USB and a Shure SM-81.

I found this deal on Amazon for you, it includes Sonar, ignore the bad reviews for Sonar, those are from musicians that think free software should be as good as Avid Pro Tools. I would still use the audacity Freefare, it fits me comfortably.

Hi Scott,