Paging Pro

I’ve been using FreePBX since 2013. It’s been great. Until now all i’ve needed is really phone calls inbound and outbound. However, now i’ve come to a stage where I need to implement announcement speakers into the system. I’ve got speakers and everything all sorted out. I can call a speaker’s extension and say a message. However, I need a slightly more advanced paging facility where I can schedule recordings to play at given times to different groups. I came across Paging Pro which seems to sound like exactly what I need. The paging pro website says: Scheduled Pages – Define custom schedules to have the system page a group of devices and play a recording. This is a great replacement for school bell systems or lunch break buzzers.

This seems like exactly what I want. However, I think this might be relevant only for new versions of freepbx is that so? On my FreePBX web UI when i click on system admin, it says PBX Firmware: 5.211.65-14 and PBX Service Pack: 1.0.0.0

Can I not install Paging Pro on this? what are my options please? Is there no demo available to try out for paging pro? It’s $95 for 25 year license but if someone wanted to test it out beforehand to see if it works for them is it not possible?

2.11 is long past end of life. As is its successor, FreePBX 12. Your priority should be to get on a supportable version, which shouldn’t be that hard. You can set up a new 15 system, update all modules and then restore a backup from your existing 2.11 system. 15 is the first version that supports legacy restores.

So just to clarify: I set up FreePBX version 15 first update all the modules and then restore from my old 2.11 version? Will this restore create all my extensions and IVR and inbound outbound rules etc?

It should. There are still a few quirks in the legacy restore function, so you will have to test everything to make sure.