Outbound Trunk Sequence Stops After Two Trunks

Hello! FreePBX newbie here, so please forgive me if I don’t use the correct terminology. I’m learning, but I’m having trouble with this problem:

I have 3 POTS lines (for the sake of argument, I’m labeling them Line 1, Line 2, and Line 3) coming into my Sangoma A20002DE FXO card. I can call in on all three lines (Inbound Routes are OK).
My Outbound Route is set up in the Trunk Sequence for Matched Routes to use line 1, then line 2, then line 3.
I have a custom congestion message recorded.

Problem: If line 1 is busy, then it will use line 2 (normal, desired behavior). If both 1 and 2 are busy, I get a busy signal for 5 seconds, then nothing (no congestion message, just the busy signal). It does not use Line 3.

Troubleshooting
After I noticed this behavior, I set up another Outbound Route, so I could dial 345*plus the number, to see if I could dial out on the number. That works OK (I can dial out on Line 3, I just have to “declare my intention to use Line 3 before I dial the number”).

I also switched the POTS lines in the back of the card (exchanged port 1 and port 3). I could now use Line 3 (which was plugged into port 1), but not line 1 (which was plugged into port 3).

My conclusion so far is that I have misconfigured something in either one of the DAHDI Modules or my outbound routes. The phone wires work OK, but having trouble getting the call to “rollover” to the third trunk.

Please comment on potential solutions or additional information (logs, config files, etc) that may help me solve this problem.

Thank you for your time!

You probably didn’t create the interface group correctly on dahdi. If you group all interfaces together in a single group, then you create a single trunk for that group. If you create several interface groups, then you need to create one trunk per group and you set the outbound trunk to use those groups sequentially.

1 Like