One server, 3 companies

Hello all,

I’m a bit new at this and the question may already have been answered (or it may be way easier than it seems, but here goes).

Our company’s voip runs on it’s own Asterisk 1.4 + FreePBX 2.4 server with VoiceMeUp as a provider.

We are going to rent out some office space to two other companies and want to offer them phone services. How do I (or where can I find the info on) go back and split my config in three different companies, each with it’s own DIDs and inbound + outbound routes (and probably trunks)?

Thanks a bunch! (it’s a bit out of my competencies)

You need to do a search for “multi tenant”. There’s really not a way to do it in asterisk, but you can get some functionality by using custom contexts.

Bill/w5waf

I’m doing exactly this for a customer using the ‘custom contexts’ addon.

However, that system is on FreePBX 2.3, I’ve not yet dared upgrade it to 2.4 as I’ve seen possible problems mentioned & not had time to properly test it.

I’ve done this using custom contexts as well, but there are problems as soon as you are using advanced functions.

There are other solutions :

Do not use custom context and connect each site phones directly to your central Asterisk (IP centrex setup). This is the simpler but not really safe : if you have a WAN link problem you will have no possibility to redirect locally the outbound calls to a TDM trunk.

For better reliability and lower amount of WAN traffic, put an Asterisk at each location and create Trunks. Then you can define prefixes to call each site.

For example at each site you define a set of extensions : extension numbers 30 to 50 and a trunk prefix for each site (two numbers like 20, 21, 22).

When you want to call a phone at another site, you dial 2030, 2135, 2239…

This is working nicely but you miss some advanced functions, for example BLF lights will only work locally.