One call works fine - second call causes jitter, audio loss

Hello fellow FreePBX’ers,

I’ve been using FreePBX with PIAF for many years now, and due to a near hardware failure, decided to colocate a new server. After setup, things seem to work fine - and when one call is connected, everything is great, no matter what codec I use.

However, when a second call comes in, the calls start to lag, get jitter, and are generally unusable. I’ve tinkered with NAT and codec settings, have updated everything to the newest available version, and no love.

The problem is, I’m not sure where to go from there. I’m running FreePBX 2.11.0.32, with Asterisk 10.12.1.

So, any pointers on where to look next? Happy to provide any settings, or config information, I’m not sure what’s relevant yet, and don’t want to flood the thread.

Thanks everyone!

What do you mean by “colocate”

The server lived locally on my network for many years, and now I’m renting a server at a datacenter near me. it’s a fresh install so sadly I can’t compare install to install for settings.

Then maybe you need a “bigger” server, at least bandwidth and CPU to suit your needs…

Is the CPU maxing out or are you getting packet loss when the second call comes up?

If it is a dedicated not a virtual server are you sure both the port on the server and the switch are in full duplex?

Thanks for the comments so far, everyone.

The CPU average load barely gets above .01, and I just emailed the hosting support, the server is on a full duplex gigabit switch.

I’ve tested for packet loss, tests consistently come back as 0% with an 18ms average between the server and office.

I’ve been googling the issue like crazy for weeks, switching codecs around, and nothing seems to help. If anyone has a guide, or other settings to try, I would be grateful.