On-Call Schedule help - Need to change on-call phone # three to four times a day

Hi,

My name is Phil and I am new to FreePBX. We are running version 2.2.3.

We have one on-Call line which needs to call one of four Doctors, depending on the time of day and day of the week.

At first, I was thinking about setting many time conditions, but since the on-call schedule changes from month to month, the maintenance of it would be too much.

I am now thinking about writing a program that would read the spreadsheet, which contains the schedule for the month. This program would be setup as a NEP on one of the other servers (Windows) and at the required time, it would update the MySQL database with the new Phone Number.

1. Does anyone have any idea if this will work?
  2. If the Database can be updated, does anyone have information as to which file I should update.
  3. Once updated, would I need to do anything to have the system start using the update phone #?

Thank you for any help you may provide.

Phil.

I wrote this a while back to help solve that problem. In this case I assume that the on call Doc is on for a day, 3 days or a week at a time. With this hunk of code, you can set the cell phone number to be paged after hours by dialing a phone number.

;This block of code allows you to change the number that the night line uses
;Put it in the from-internal-custom.
;
;You will need to set up a Misc Destination in FreePBX for each Day/Night 
;toggle that you use.  Then point the night portion of the Day/Night switch 
;to that Misc Destination.  In my case, since the Day/Night switches are
;*280 through *289, I created Misc Destinations 280 through 289.  
;
;If you dial *280 then a 10-digit number, it will write a database key called
;"DAYNIGHT/N0 and enter the 10 digit number in it.  That is what the first block
;code does.
;
;The second block of code is processed when the night mode of a particular