No Sound on FreePBX (running on VMFusion)

Hi, I’m new to FreePBX.

I set it up as a virtual machine and I’m trying to use XLite to make calls. I setup an extension and correctly inputted the info on XLite and the registration successfully completed.

Then I made a test call on XLite and it would call the phone, but there’s no sound. I believe it’s a networking issue, but I don’t know what to do.

Is the Softphone and the PBX on the same subnet?
Under SIP Settings did you add the local network?

As @PitzKey says. Also confirm that external IP is correct. Restart (not just reload) after network config changes.

Be sure that you are using bridged networking https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1022264 .

In X-Lite, Topology -> Firewall Traversal, set Use local IP address.

If X-Lite is not on same LAN as the PBX, describe your network setup.

Does an internal call, e.g. to *43 (echo test) work? If not, we’ll debug that first. If yes, post details of trunking provider, pjsip or chan_sip, audio in either direction, etc.

1 Like

I haven’t added the local network. How do I do that?

Bridged networking is being used for the virtual machine.

Internal calls work just fine. Audio is working in both directions in internal calls. However, when dialing out, audio is absent in both directions.

I’m using SIPStation and I’ve used pjsip and chan_sip (neither would work), but I’m currently using pjsip.

I just tried adding the local network under Asterisk SIP Settings with Detect Network Settings.

Then I applied the settings and restarted the virtual machine and the call still had no audio.

That seems redundant. Did you mean “Audio is working in both directions in incoming calls”? If so, that points to a problem with your network (between the host and the internet). If not, what does happen on incoming calls?