No free lines available message

Hello all, I am new to VoIP and have been reading as much as possible on this site. I just recently setup a FreePBX server with version 2.10.1.9 along with 7 Cisco 7960 phones. I currently have one SIP trunk registered with les.net as well as one DID I’ve been using for testing. Trunk settings in FreePBX are set to 8 maximum channels.

The system is now operational and can receive and make calls, call internal extensions, etc… However, while testing the total number of concurrent calls I’m able to make, I am receiving a message of “no free lines available” when trying to create the third call.

To test, I dial American Airlines from one of the 7960’s, place that call on hold, create a new call to AA, place it on hold. However, when I push the “NewCall” soft-button in attempt to create the third call, I get the “no free lines available”.

I created a ticket with les.net as I thought they may be limiting the trunk to two concurrent calls. They advised that they default to 5, but went ahead and changed it to 8 on their end. They also do not generate any errors such as “no free lines available” and believe the problem is on my end.

I took a look into the SIP{MAC}.cnf files as well as the SIPdefault.cnf for anything pertaining to number of enabled lines but found nothing. Also, I see nothing in the FreePBX settings. Has anyone seen this behavior with a 7960? Any suggestions are appreciated!!

well now, I may have been too quick to ask someone else what I may be overlooking. When I do the same scenario as spelled out above, but instead of creating a third call on the same 7960, go to another 7960, I’m able to create two concurrent calls on that phone as well (while the first two calls are on hold). I tried this up to 8 calls (on four different phones) and it works.